Trafficking In Persons

Trafficking In Persons:

Trafficking in persons means the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harbouring or receipt of persons by means of the threat or use of force or other forms of coercion of abduction,
fraud of deception of the abuse of power or of a position of vulnerability or of the giving or receiving of payments or benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over
another for the purpose of exploitation.


A Uganda free from all acts of trafficking in persons

To put in place sustainable measures for the effective management of trafficking in persons


a. To re-align the relevant national legislations and international commitments in line with the demands and challenges of TIP

b. To prevent trafficking in persons in Uganda through vibrant awareness campaigns, and several operational preventive measures

c. To enhance the capacity of stake holders with appropriate skills and capabilities for effective detection, investigations and prosecution of the crime of TiP

d. To build institutional capacity of relevant stakeholders to be able to provide effective protection and assistance to victims of TIP.

e. To promote useful operational partnership and cooperation among stakeholders, on matters related to countering TiP, at the domestic, regional and international levels.

Trafficking In Persons Task Force

As a way of operationilizing Section 21 of the Prevention of Trafficking in Persons (PTIP) Act the then Minister of Internal Affairs designated a Coordination Office for Prevention
of Trafficking in Persons, at the Ministry of Internal Affairs, in March 2013, to be responsible for coordination, monitoring and overseeing the implementation of the Act.

Comosition of the Task Force

1. Ministry of Internal Affairs (MoIA)
2. Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MoFA)
3. Ministry of Gender, Labour & Social Develop’nt (MoGLSD)
4. Ministry of Education & Sports (MoES)
5. Ministry of Local Government (MoLG)
6. Directorate of Criminal Investigations (CID)
7. Directorate of Public Prosecutions (DPP)
8. Internal Security Organization (ISO)
9. External Security Organization (ESO)
10. Office of Prime Minister – Refugee Affairs (OPM)
11. Directorate of Citizenship & Immigration Control (DCIC)
12. Ministry of Justice & Constitutional Affairs (MoJCA)
14. Representatives of Civil Society Organizations (CSOs)